

October 1, 2016

Ohio Recognizes Special Officials

Ohio's Individual State Tournament had a special guest this year. Mr. B. Elliot Hopkins, Director of Sports and Education from the National Federation attended the entire tournament. He was interested seeing our weigh-in process with Dr. Jess DeMaria (Dermatologist) handling the final



decision on several contagious skin conditions. He recognized the cohesive teamwork within the ten teams of table workers and officials. Many of our officials had an opportunity to speak with him during the weekend, and he was very open to hearing from everyone. Pictured from left to right are Beau Rugg, OHSAA Assist. Comm., Elliot Hopkins NFHS and Dr. Bruce Maurer Tournament Manager. Mr. Hopkins expressed his gratitude and enjoyed his visit to Ohio to see the Individual State Wrestling Tournament. He made several compliments throughout the weekend as he watched every team at every mat work

matches through their rotation. Mr. Hopkins stated "I could sit in the parking lot, watch on the internet and score a match watching the Ohio referees work a match. Their signals are clear and easy to understand."

At the Spring Hall of Fame banquet a number of Ohio wrestling individuals were recognized. Ray Anthony was inducted into the OHSAA Hall of Fame. Ray has been a Sate Rule Interpreter for 14 years. Also inducted was Kim Lance for his service to baseball, but Kim has also worked our state wrestling tournaments for many years. Most recently, he is in charge of the runners. Receiving his 25 year certificate and pin was Joel Waters.

Four Dedicated Service recipients were recognized at the annual OWOA clinic. Ralph Farmer from the Greater Cincinnati Association, Nevin Taylor from the Central District and both Jim Houghtaling and Vince Matteucci from Northeast Ohio were cited for their continued contributions to Ohio wrestling officiating. These four gentlemen combine for more 180 years of dedicated service and experience providing for the growth of new gene rations of wrestling officials. Pictured from left to right are Dick Loewenstine, Ralph Farmer, Ray Anthony, Vince Matteucci, Jim Vreeland and Nevin Taylor.



Be Professional * Polite * Prompt * Direct * Decisive